Offer it up

Psalm 73:26 My flesh and my heart may fail; but God is the strength of my heart and my portion for ever.

There are times when my body feels great and I tend to forget that I am a chronic pain sufferer. Life seems so breezy on these days and I function at my fullest capacity. More often there are days where pain seems to settle in my body and I have learned to just ignore or deal with it to the best of my ability. There are occasions where I have became frustrated and upset that my body won’t allow me to move as much as I use to. Thoughts run through my mind as to what is my purpose, and how am I to serve God at this time.
I had struggled in the past when it was suggested that I should offer up my pain and unite it to the cross. Who am I to think that my prayer would have any significance or value in that regard? I am a sinner and felt I had no worth. Therefore, would it not be foolish to think my suffering could be united to the cross to help others.
If you read the lives of the saints you soon learn that Jesus uses our trials and suffering to bring about a greater good. The smallest act of love for another can become redemptive as
Jesus hears our every prayer. Our hearts and flesh will fail, but God is our strength.

Dear Jesus, I pray for all those who struggle with self worth in their lives that they will recognize how much you love them. You know the pain of rejection Lord, and I pray that you will heal the hearts of those who feel rejected. Help them to see their worth and value in your kingdom. Amen.

Leave a comment